Skip to main content

Borders to open for fully vaccinated visa holders

By 22 November 2021November 24th, 2021No Comments

The Federal Government has today announced that certain fully vaccinated Australian visa holders will be able to travel to Australia from 1 December 2021, without the need to first seek approval from the Australian Border Force. This will also apply to those visa holders who are already in Australia but who have been unable to depart and return without that approval.

Travel bubbles with South Korea and Japan will also open from 1 December 2021, following the opening of the Singapore travel bubble on 21 November 2021. More countries expected to follow.

Those who hold the following visas will be permitted to travel to Australia from 1 December 2021:

Subclass 300 – Prospective Marriage visa
Subclass 400 – Temporary Work (Short Stay Specialist) visa
Subclass 403 – Temporary Work (International Relations) visa (other streams, including Australian Agriculture Visa stream)
Subclass 407 – Training visa
Subclass 408 – Temporary Activity visa
Subclass 417 – Working Holiday visa
Subclass 457 – Temporary Work (Skilled) visa
Subclass 461 – New Zealand Citizen Family Relationship visa
Subclass 462 – Work and Holiday visa
Subclass 476 – Skilled – Recognised Graduate visa
Subclass 482 – Temporary Skill Shortage visa
Subclass 485 – Temporary Graduate visa
Subclass 489 – Skilled – Regional (Provisional) visa
Subclass 491 – Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa
Subclass 494 – Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional) visa
Subclass 500 – Student visa
Subclass 580 – Student Guardian visa (closed to new applicants)
Subclass 590 – Student Guardian visa
Subclass 870 – Sponsored Parent (Temporary) visa

The full list of eligible visa holders is here:

The above eligible visa holders must be fully vaccinated with the following Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) approved or recognised vaccines (including mixed doses):

  • Two doses at least 14 days apart of:
    • AstraZeneca Vaxzevria
    • AstraZeneca Covishield
    • Pfizer/Biontech Comirnaty
    • Moderna Spikevax
    • Sinovac Coronavac
    • Bharat Biotech Covaxin
    • Sinopharm BBIBP-CorV (for 18-60 year olds).
  • Or one dose of:
    • Johnson & Johnson/ Janssen-Cilag COVID Vaccine.

The final vaccine dose must have been administered at least 7 days before travel to Australia.

Quarantine free travel arrangements apply only to NSW, Victoria and the ACT. If visa holders wish to travel on to another state or territory they may not be allowed to enter or may be subject to a quarantine period.

At this stage, it is unclear how processing for people offshore who have applied for one of the above visas will be affected and which visas will be prioritized.  Ajuria Lawyers will be in touch with our clients direct on any news on this.

Further information can be found on the Department of Home Affairs website

DISCLAIMER This information is current as of date of publication and subject to change. The information contained in this publication is of a general nature only. It should not be used as legal advice. To the extent permissible by law, Ajuria Lawyers and its associated entities shall not be liable for any errors, omissions, defects or misrepresentations in the information or for any loss or damage suffered by persons who use or rely on such information. Liability limited by a scheme approved under Professional Standards Legislation.

Have more specific questions about your visa? Get in touch with Ajuria Lawyers today.

Talk to us

Author Aidan Kinsella

More posts by Aidan Kinsella