Skip to main content

Australian Domestic Border Restrictions

By 29 June 2020September 8th, 2020No Comments

We are starting to see more travel exemptions being granted to allow critical employees into Australia. Under current Australian Border Force rules, all international travellers entering Australia must be isolated in mandatory quarantine accommodation for 14 days. However, if employees are then required to travel interstate, different rules then apply for each State or Territory.

ACT:       There are currently no restrictions on entering or leaving the Australian Capital Territory.

NSW:     There are currently no restrictions on entering or leaving New South Wales.

NT:         Currently, anyone travelling interstate to the Northern Territory is required to self-quarantine for 14 days. From 17 July 2020, all mandatory quarantine will be lifted.

QLD:      Only Queensland residents, residents of border communities undertaking essential activities and those considered an ‘exempt person’ are currently allowed to enter Queensland from another State or Territory. All non-residents must lodge a travel request and will be assessed on a case by case basis. Anyone returning from an area declared as a COVID-19 hotspot in Australia within the last 14 days will be required to self-isolate for 14 days.  Queensland is set to open its borders from 10 July 2020.

SA:         Travellers entering directly from the Northern Territory, Queensland, Tasmania and Western Australia are not required to self-quarantine. If you are arriving from any other State or Territory you will be required to self-isolate for 14 days. These restrictions are anticipated to be lifted on 20 July 2020.

TAS:       Tasmanian residents are required to self-quarantine for 14 days at their place of residence. All non-residents are required to complete a 14-day quarantine at a Tasmanian government accommodation facility. At this stage, the border restrictions will be in place until at least 24 July 2020.

VIC:        There are currently no restrictions on entering or leaving Victoria.

WA:       Regardless of whether you are a resident or non-resident of Western Australia, all travellers must apply for a travel exemption to enter Western Australia. All travellers are required to self-isolate for 14 days.

These rules change regularly so contact us if you have questions about quarantine.

DISCLAIMER This information is current as of 29 June 2020 and subject to change. The information contained in this publication is of a general nature only. It should not be used as legal advice. To the extent permissible by law, Ajuria Lawyers and its associated entities shall not be liable for any errors, omissions, defects or misrepresentations in the information or for any loss or damage suffered by persons who use or rely on such information. Liability limited by a scheme approved under Professional Standards Legislation.

Have more specific questions about your visa? Get in touch with Ajuria Lawyers today.

Let's Talk

Author Ron Kessels

More posts by Ron Kessels