Skip to main content

Will I need to do a medical exam?

Will I need to do a medical exam?

We will tell you if you or your family needs to do medical exams.

You will probably need to do a medical if you are in one of the following high-risk situations:

Hold a passport from a TB-high risk country and likely to enter a healthcare or hospital environment Chest x-ray examination (if aged 11 or over) and a medical examination
Pregnant and intend to have the baby in Australia Hepatitis B test
Intending to work as (or study to be) a doctor, dentist, nurse or paramedic Chest x-ray and medical examinations HIV, hepatitis B and C blood tests
If likely to work or train at an Australian childcare centre, preschools or crèches Chest x-ray and a medical examination
Have been in a country considered high risk for Tuberculosis* for more than 3 consecutive months in the past 5 years. *Countries not considered high risk for Tuberculosis are listed in the table below

Countries with Possible Medical Exceptions

Passport holder from the following countries will probably not need a medical:

A – D Albania; American Samoa; Andorra; Antigua and Barbuda; Argentina; Aruba; Australia; Austria; Bahamas; Bahrain; Barbados; Belgium; Belize; Bermuda; Bonaire; Bouvet Island; Bulgaria; Canada; Cayman Islands; Chile; Christmas Island; Cocos (Keeling) Islands; Cook Islands; Costa Rica; Croatia; Cuba; Curacao; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Denmark; Dominica;
E – J Egypt; Estonia; Falkland Islands; Faroe Islands; Finland; France; French Polynesia; FYR Macedonia (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia); Germany; Gibraltar; Greece; Grenada; Guadeloupe; Heard and McDonald Islands; Hungary: Iceland; Iran; Ireland; Israel; Italy; Jamaica; Japan; Jordan;
K – R Kosovo; Kuwait; Lebanon; Lichtenstein; Luxembourg; Malta; Mauritius; Mexico; Monaco; Montenegro; Montserrat; Netherlands; Netherlands Antilles; New Caledonia; New Zealand; Niue; Norfolk Island; Norway; Oman; Palestinian Authority; Pitcairn Island; Poland; Portugal; Puerto Rico; Reunion Island;
S Saint Eustatius & Saba; Saint Helena (Ascension and Tristan da Cunha); Saint Kitts and Nevis; Saint Lucia; Saint Martin (Dutch); Samoa; San Marino; Saudi Arabia; Serbia; Seychelles; Slovakia; Slovenia; South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands; Spain; Svalbard & Jan Mayen; Sweden; Switzerland;
T – Z Tokelau; Tonga; Trinidad and Tobago; Tunisia; Turkey; Turks and Caicos Islands; United Arab Emirates; United Kingdom (British citizen); United States of America; Uruguay Vatican City; Virgin Islands (British); Virgin Islands (US); Wallis and Futuna Islands.
Back to FAQ